National Award

The bi-annual National Award of the BSPS exists since 1981. The list of laureates can be found at the bottom of this page.

The next BSPS National Award will be awarded in 2025. Deadline for candidates to submit their thesis is September 15th 2024.



Article 1. The goal of this Award is to encourage the Pharmaceutical Sciences research. A Prize worth € 1.250 is awarded bi-annually to a young researcher.

Article 2. The jury that evaluates the dissertations of the candidates is composed of minimum 5 members. The jury is composed as follows:

  1. the President of the BSPS. If the BSPS President has a conflict of interest, he is replaced by another Board member without a conflict;
  2. two members of the BSPS Board;
  3. two or 3 members with expertise in the fields of the presented dissertations.
    The jury designates a secretary.

Article 3. Jury decisions are taken by absolute majority of votes. If 2 dissertations are evaluated equally, the award can be divided and awarded to 2 laureates. The prize can never be awarded more than once to the same person.
Article 4. Dissertations should be send to the secretariat of the BSPS, Stevinstraat 137, 1000 Bruxelles. The prize is awarded on the next General Assembly. Candidates, member or not of the BSPS, maximum 35 years old, should send with their application 2 copies of their dissertation and curriculum vitae. The copies remain BSPS propriety.
Article 5. If the Prize is not awarded, the amount is transferred to the next bi-annual period when 2 prizes might be awarded. If then only 1 prize is awarded, the extra amount returns to the BSPS.
Article 6. The prize can only be awarded to a dissertation based on original research, not previously submitted for a BSPS award, except congress grants.
Article 7. The winner will present his research on a BSPS scientific happening.
Article 8. On the proposition of the Board, the General Assembly can decide to suspend the National Award for a specific period.

Past Laureates

Year laureate(s) Univ Title
2023 S. Dedroog KU Leuven  Influence of formulation and process parameters on the kinetic stabilization of amorphous solid dispersions with high drug loading
2021 J. Boeckmans VUB Development and characterization of a human stem cell-based in vitro model for anti-NASH drug testing
2019 E. Farcas ULiège / UNamur Contribution of capillary electrophoresis at the early stage of drug discovery
2017 H. Dewitte UGent Design and evaluation of immunotherapeutic imaging for cancer vaccination
2015 J. Meeus KUL Development of long-acting injectable formulations of poorly soluble anti-HIV compounds
2013 A. van Nuijs UA Wastewater analysis as complementary approach for estimating illicit consumption in the general population
2011 K. Raemdonck UGent Biodegradable dextran nanogels as functional carriers for the intracellular delivery of small interfering RNA
2009 A. Minne UCL Pulmonary Influenza vaccination: efficacy and safety studies
2007 A.Spinewine UCL Appropriate use of medicines in care of the elderly. Factors underlying inappropriateness and impact of the clinical pharmacist
2007 D. Mangelings VUB Evaluation of capillary electrochromatography as chiral separation technique
2005 P.Sonveaux UCL The tumor vasculature : functional reactivity and therapeutic implications
2003 N.Sanders UGent Lung mucus may cause gene therapy failure in cystic fibrosis
2001 E. Delaey KUL In vitro and in vivo study of hypericins and cyanines as novel photodynamic therapy tools
2001 Ch. Lechanteur ULg Etude des effets thérapeutiques de l’administration de gènes suicides et de cytokines dans les carcinomatoses péritonéales
1999 R. Van Bever UCL Skin electroporation for transdermal drug delivery
1997 S. Sarre VUB Neurochemical and neuropharmacological studies on the monoaminergic mesotelencephalic neuron system in rat brain, using in vivo microdialysis
1997 O. Féron UCL Spécificités moléculaires et cellulaires des canaux calciques de type L : bases de la sélectivité tissulaire des antagonistes calciques
1995 B. Gallez UCL Essai de vectorisation de radicaux nitroxyles vers le tissu hépatique. Evaluation en tant qu'agents de contraste pour l'imagerie par résonance magnétique nucléaire
1995 J. Paesen KUL Development and application of analytical methods for macrolide antibiotics
1993 J.F. Liégeois ULg Etudes pharmacochimiques et pharmacologiques dans la série des azaarylazépines
1991 J. Quetin-Leclercq ULg Détection, purification et analyse structurale d’alcaloïdes indoliques: Etude des effets cytotoxiques produits par certains d’entre eux
1991 D. Hendriks UIA Human carboxypeptidase N. A bioanalytical and functional approach ; presence of a new arginine carboxypeptidase in serum
1989 P. Herné ULg Détection photométrique indirecte en chromatographie liquide à polarité de phases inversée
1989 L. Pieters UIA Possibilities and limitations of 1H and 13C nuclear magnetic resonance spectrosco¬py for the identification and the quantitative determina¬tion of some naturally occurring carcinogenic risk factors
1987 B. Vincké ULB Contribution à l'étude d'électrodes modifiées par adjonction de biocatalyseurs. Applications à l'analyse chimique, pharmaceutique et clinique
1985 G. Paeme VUB Bijdrage tot de studie van de Biotransformatie van Procycline en Trihexylfenidyl
1983 M. Tits ULg Contribution à l’étude chimique du Strychnos variabilis, plante toxique du Bas-Zaïre. Isolement et détermination de structure de nouveaux alcaloïdes indoliques
1983 P. Herdewijn KUL Synthesis of carbocyclic analogues of beta-lactam antibiotics
1981 Ch. Gelijkens RUG Ontwikkeling van analysetechnieken voor de bepaling van enkele nucleoside metabolieten van 5-fluoro-uracyl in biologisch materiaal
1981 J.C. Viré ULB Contribution à l'étude analytique des naphtoquinones - Groupe des vitamines K